She is...

Table of Contents

1. Opening Segment
2. "She is..."
3. Foundation
4. Format
5. "The Flower"
6. "Sunshine in the Storm"
7. "It's a Long Way to Fall"
8. Homecoming
9. "(Give You) Back to You"
10. The Still, Small Voice
11. "In the Silence"
12. Her Gifts
13. "Grace"
14. "Quiet Fire"
15. "Gift of Flight (Intuition)"
16. "Dancing Girl"
17. "One Child at a Time"
18. Celebration


A bird doesn't sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.
- Maya Angelou

email your comments


Five Sections

This recording is divided into five sections, though each song and each segment of conversation may stand on its own. The first section is the introduction. Obviously you have already begun listening to that portion of the recording. Here the basic scope of the recording and foundational material is considered. Between the introduction and the concluding segment are three sections which somewhat outline a journey, a sort of sunrise as the transition from darkness to light is achieved. The first part of this trilogy is a brief reflection on the trials women have faced and continue to face. Both sides of the issue of pre-determined expectations are addressed as we consider the role we each play in both listening to and creating voices that discourage us from remaining true to ourselves. The next section is a "homecoming," the recognition of the serene and joyful spirit that lies at the center of her being. The third of these sections is the "gifts" section that identifies and praises many of the virtues inherent within the feminine spirit. The recording concludes with the celebration section, singing praises to the beauty, wonder, and majesty of her being.

Listening Tips

» Autonomy

I have already mentioned that each song and each monologue may be considered individually. I hope that each will hold some level of meaning for you regardless of the context. As with any form of art or literature, as your point of view changes the messages will likely change as well. I hope these offerings bear enough fruit to yield such rewards for you.

» Explanation of Songs » Find Your Own Meaning

In the conversation sections I will often discuss the concept behind a song or the feelings and thoughts that gave rise to its creation. I hope that these descriptions will enhance rather than interfere with your own interpretations. For that reason, the explanation will generally follow rather than precede the song. This will enable you to first experience each song relatively free of a preconceived perspective. This very idea is central to the theme of this work. In my way of thinking, when God placed within us our unique gifts, they were packaged with easy to read instructions on how and when to use them. But we have been conditioned to barrel along on our own, not taking the time to read the instructions - a practice which is, by the way, stereotypically a male malady. So when your ideas, thoughts, or feelings and mine don't coincide, take yours. My journey was writing and recording from the perspective of my ideas and experiences. Only you can accurately determine your own.

» Allow meanings to grow with you

It is also my hope that the songs will grow with you, carrying ever-changing meanings as your experiences and perspectives change throughout your daily life. I read my favorite books and listen to my favorite recordings again and again. It's always amazing to me how different they are each time as I grow and experience new situations. Whether the time between each reading or listening is short or long, something strikes me differently each and every time. This excites me. Where it's true that change doesn't always mean growth, I believe it's fair to say that growth does require change.


The songs reflect a variety of moods though it appears to me that there's a certain similarity or thread that runs through them. Some seem happy and some seem sad, but even this is open to interpretation and change from listening to listening. In most cases, the goal was a non-intrusive and relaxed tone. Hopefully you will be able to express joy, sadness, and/or the various and sundry hues between the two whenever and wherever you feel it is appropriate. Perhaps at times, particularly in the section about trials and challenges, it might seem as though the tone is not at all celebratory. Whereas joy is the primary voice of celebration, celebration is also expressed in reverence, reflection, and soulfulness. I have personally experienced occasions where the deepest and richest celebrations have resounded through sorrow. The spirit touches us in darkness and in light, and indeed it is against that darkness that her glory has radiated throughout much of history. How then can we fully and accurately celebrate the feminine spirit without mention of pain? I believe that it may well be this idea that gives rise to that common thread that I mentioned runs through each of the songs.


When I first conceived of the idea for this song cycle, I was faced with a bit of a dilemma. Would I sing to her or about her? Would I sing to her, or for her - and if I sang for her, why would hers be a masculine voice? When I posed these problems to a friend who leads a woman's spirituality group, she encouraged me not to worry about it. So I finally decided not to decide. I have recorded the songs as they were written, without specific regard to point of view, voice, or tense. The points of view, like the meanings, are for you to choose. Perhaps when I sing "she" or "her" I will be singing directly to you. Perhaps I will be singing about women in general or a specific friend or loved one of yours. When I say "I" or "me," I could be singing either to you or for you. Perhaps you can consider each song at different times from a variety of perspectives.